7 Days of Beach Waves

Since our beach vacation is only a little bit more than a month away, I thought it’d be fun to continue with a few posts related to traveling.  That includes last week’s packing checklist, today’s 7 days of beach waves & a roundup of all things baby next week! I always like posts like this so I can find out how other families make it all happen.. because traveling with children is essentially a circus act.

 One of my biggest issues during trips to the beach, or really anywhere, is my hair.  I find that it always ends up an afterthought & I feel like I end up looking frumpy in pictures.. This time, I’m determined to make it a priority without sacrificing a whole lot of time each day to “do it”.  To accomplish that, I’ve come up with this game plan.  Of course, it’s not perfect & I doubt I’ll follow it to a T, but at least it’s a starting point.  The beach wave trend in hair going on right now definitely helps my case, but I’m shooting for a little more variety. Here’s what I’m thinking..

DAY 1

(Airport) We don’t fly in until 7:00pm, but to make the next few days easier, I’ll start the trip with freshly washed hair and a loose style with some product already in. I’ll probably go with the 901 wave I mentioned a couple weeks ago.

DAY 2

 This will be our first full day, so we’ll be anxious to eat a quick breakfast and head to the beach.. I’m hoping to rely on the previous day’s leftover style to make it through the day.  For nighttime, I’ll throw in a loose twisted crown braid.

DAY 3

Now I’ll be on 2 day hair + a beach day, so I’ll have some texture to work with.  I’ll shoot for a half-up top knot & hopefully it will last for the whole day. If it’s windy or I want my hair off my neck, I’ll do an inverted braid underneath and pull it all up.

DAY 4

I’ll definitely need to wash my hair by today, but I don’t want to waste our precious time by the ocean washing, drying & styling..my solution is to wash it first thing in the morning then add some texturizing spray and a braid in front then let the rest air dry.  For the evening, I’ll take out the braid, throw in a few quick waves with the iron and be ready to go.

DAY 5
I have yet to plan a style with a hat yet, so I’m thinking this lace-braided updo at the nape of my neck would look so cute peeking out from under the hat.

DAY 6

As long as it was able to hold up through the elements in the previous day, I’ll do another half-up top knot on this day, but add in a tiny braid that can hang on the side for a little extra flair.

DAY 7

We don’t leave until the afternoon, so depending on how much time I have, I’ll either wash it once more to go home with clean hair or do a braid up front with a low pony and call it a day.

 

 

I also started a beach hair board on Pinterest to have at the ready because I always like to have back up options.. and in case you were wondering, the only tools/products I’ll be taking with me are: my trusty wet brush (just act like you can’t see the hair in it), a curling iron, bobbi pins, a hair tie, hairspray, dry shampoo & my favorite texturizing spray-hair shake.

 
Here’s to a vacation spent viewing the ocean & my two main men.. not myself in the mirror! 

xo.

Leave a Reply

