100th post.. kinda.

 

In honor of my 100th post (this week), I thought I’d do something fun to celebrate. And since St. Patrick’s Day is right around the corner, I knew I wanted to incorporate lucky charms.  So today I’m going to share my mom’s fool-proof Texas Sheet Cake recipe with a festive twist.  You ready?

FOR THE CAKE:
2 C flour
2 C sugar (I use a little less)
4 T cocoa
1/2 C. crisco
1 C water
1 stick butter
1/2 c buttermilk (my mom taught me if you don’t have it, you can make your own by adding in a dash of vinegar to milk!)
2 beaten eggs
1 t. vanilla
1 t. baking soda

FOR THE ICING:
1 stick butter
4 T cocoa
6 T milk
3 C powdered sugar
optional lucky charms (about 1/2 box separated)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 400
Mix together flour & sugar in a large bowl, then set aside
Bring cocoa, crisco, butter & water to a boil
Pour over flour/sugar mixture & stir together slightly, just to cool the chocolate
Whisk together the remaining ingredients in a separate bowl
Add to the chocolate mixture
Stir to combine
Pour the batter into a greased jelly roll pan
Bake in the oven for 15 minutes

While the cake is in the oven, bring wet ingredients for icing to a boil.
Add powered sugar, 1/2 cup at a time until combined.
Stir frequently and keep on low until the cake is done.

Pour the hot icing on top of the cake straight out of the oven. Give it 15 minutes or so to cool slightly before topping with lucky charms, then cut & dig in!

Remember.. a party without cake is just a meeting!
xo.

Leave a Reply

