Swim to Mama

I tried on a one piece for the first time the other day & I have to say, I didn’t hate it! I definitely needed a M for length and the girls so I didn’t buy it because they only had a small and large, but it has me hopeful that I’ll find one to fall in love with.  I have literally always worn two piece Victoria’s Secret swimsuits that I purchase during the winter’s semi-annual sale.  I think every swimsuit I currently own I purchased that way.. but when I looked through the catalog this season, I couldn’t find a one piece I liked enough to pay $100 for even on sale! I’ve come to the conclusion that if I’m really going to be wearing this suit for the rest of the summers that it fits, I should invest in one that I find to be flattering, comfortable, & will hold up well through the massive amounts of chlorine it’ll endure.  I’ve been following Amber on Barefoot Blonde for a while now and I see her on vacation at the beach wearing the cutest one piece suits.. so I searched her blog to figure out what brands she’s always sporting.  Nananette Lepore, Trina Turk & Mara Hoffman are a few she mentioned that she likes.. and they ‘aint cheap!  So my search began.

The thing I struggle with the most is what size to order.  There are so many mixed reviews online for each of these that it almost makes it harder. I’d say I have a little longer torso than most, but everything else on my 5’6″ frame is pretty average. So I want to order a medium or a 4/6, but then I worry that the top may be too loose or the bottom too saggy! If could go my entire life without any embarrassing slips happening, I’d be forever grateful.. tysm!

Anyway, I’m dying over this suit; haaaa in my dreams, $300+ swimsuit no way.  So I found this lookalike from target–ahh $45. much better. The high neckline and scalloped edge is adorable, but then I read the reviews and everyone complains that a nipslip is highly likely + there’s no support in that thing at all. Ashton: 0 Suit:1 Here’s one that is freakin’ cute.  I like that the ruching is across the whole suit (not just the midsection) so it looks intentional and adds to the style.  At $127 it’s a stretch, but it could be justifiable if it satisfies my 3 contingencies: flattering, comfortable, & durable.  Now on to this one. I’ve seen it on a few other mamas and love it, but is the black too boring? Or is it too classic, not to mention concealing, not to get it? The peplum on this tankini is also cute, but again with the black and I also worry it’s too juvenile? And finally, I have this one in my cart at anthropologie.. ahh I just don’t know if I can pull the trigger.

HELP!!

xo.

Leave a Reply

