#tbt

I think my interest in entertaining all began when I planned our wedding.  Then once we bought our house, we finally had the space to have people over for small get togethers. Today I thought I’d be fun to share with you a few of the parties I have hosted and planned in the past year. With the exception of my sister-in-law’s bridal shower (Danny’s Aunt & I did that one together), I did them all myself.  I designed the invitations, decor, homemade the chocolate dipped pretzels.. everything! I truly have so much fun doing it & I don’t see my love for entertaining dying down anytime soon.  Without further adieu,  here are the four parties I hosted in 2015:

Danny’s sister’s bridal shower was last January.  The colors for her wedding were pink and orange so I knew we had to make her shower just as bright & colorful.  Since she got married on the beach, I thought flamingoes would be fun to add here and there, too.  We had a caterer come to the house to make brunch–mini pancakes, cheesy potatoes, the most delicious mini quiches, fruit & mimosas.  And a friend of mine who bakes made the most beautiful cake & cupcakes.  Everyone took pictures with the bride in a makeshift photobooth & they all took home an Essie nail polish as their favor!  I got the idea for the balloon arch on Pinterest & a lady from the party store that we rented the chairs & linens from helped that come to life.  I thought I could do it myself, but she came with a special machine that blows the balloons up in about 5 seconds so the arch was done in a matter of 20 minutes; that would have taken me at least a week!


Then in April, I hosted a happy hour baby shower..for myself. lol. Well, it really was like my mom throwing it for me at my house. Since she lives in Nashville, it seemed to be the most logical to have it here.. plus I didn’t mind getting to help plan another party! Also, it was a little more relaxed than a typical shower–we invited all the guys too! This event is definitely lacking photos because I was busy up until the minute before everyone arrived so I didn’t get a chance to take many.  Nevertheless, we served small appetizers like cheese and crackers, fruit, & veggies and then my mom homemade 4 different kinds of pizzas for everyone to nibble on.  They were delicious, but I feel bad that my mom was busy for most of the party & couldn’t just sit back to enjoy it.  She also had a lady from Nashville decorate cookies for our favor; they were the cutest decorated crowns, mustaches, & onesies! I made these chocolate dipped pretzels & displayed them in a cigar box to hand out to the guys.  Isn’t it cool there’s actually a real cigar with my name on it?! Oh! I should mention that Babylist is the best place to do your registry! You can put items from any store, etsy shop, services (like home cooked meals!), hand-me-down clothes, gift cards.. anything! on your list. I found it super easy & such a relief when I knew I wanted things from stores that we don’t have in our city.

 Then we had Danny’s side of the family over for this shower. It was right before Cinco de Mayo, so it only seemed fitting that we had a fiesta theme.  I had a lot of fun with this one.  I handmade each one of those tissue paper flowers with instructions from Pinterest & it literally only took some floral wire, a package of colorful tissue paper & time..lots of time! We had a taco bar, fruit, chips & guac etc.  And zebra cakes on a stick were supposed to be a funny favor for everyone because it was a running joke that I ate those all the time when I was pregnant.

 And most recently, I hosted my side’s family Christmas.  Our gift exchange was a favorite things theme, so this event was is a combination the two. I don’t want this to be too repetitive, so you can see our menu that I planned in this post, and how the night all went down here if you didn’t catch it previously.  Ultimately, everyone went home happy with the gifts they chose, the meal was great, & we had a lot of fun together.

So those were the parties I hosted last year.  They may not be the fanciest or most elaborate, but I had fun planning them and my guests enjoyed themselves, so I consider it a success.  This year I’ll get to host Rhett’s first birthday party, maybe something for Danny’s 25th birthday, I want to get together with some girlfriends in the summer, & I hope to have Christmas at our house again! Lots of fun to be had.. only this year, we’ll have a little toddler around to give us a few more laughs!

xo.

Leave a Reply

