Weekly menu 3/52

Just popping in to share this weeks menu!

skinny tortelloni & peppers (a new recipe)
green chile enchilada pasta (I forgot to add a few ingredients to the grocery list last week..whoops!)
buffalo chicken lettuce wraps
asian beef & broccoli with egg drop soup
BLT’s & cold pasta salad

Last week I made a few things that I wanted to share, also.  These goat cheese stuffed mini sweet peppers I made to have with our meatloaf & they were great! I wished I had made a balsamic reduction for a drizzle on top, but I’ll remember to next time.

I made this overnight oats recipe a few times and Rhett & I looooved it.. typically you eat overnight oats cold, but I zapped ours in the microwave just to take the chill off for Rhett & I actually preferred it that way!

Carrot Cake Overnight Oats
1/2 c rolled oats
1/2 c liquid (I used almond coconut milk)
2 T chopped carrots
1/2 banana, mashed
drizzle maple syrup
pinch of cinnamon
2 T pecans

Instructions

  1. Mix all the ingredients together (leaving out the pecans) and put in the fridge overnight.
  2. In the morning, top with pecans & enjoy!

And finally, I wanted to make a treat for my nephew who we took on a date night for his birthday so I made mini heart cronuts.. It was a slight fail because not all of them looked like hearts after frying, & some didn’t get fully cooked because my oil was too hot. But they were cute so that counts for something! Hopefully I solved the problem of overheating the oil for you in the instructions.. My mistake was starting with heating the oil & not keeping a close enough watch, so it was hot before I was done shaping the hearts! 

  

Mini Heart Cronuts
1 tube crescent dough
2 c canola oil (for frying)

Powdered Sugar Glaze
1 c powdered sugar
2 T milk
tiny pinch of salt

Instructions

  1. Start by whisking the salt, milk & powdered sugar together to make the glaze (mine was also too thin so don’t worry if yours looks a bit different in the end)
  2. Then open the crescent dough, keeping two triangles together so you have rectangular shapes.
  3. Pinch together where they are perforated across the diagonal
  4. Roll up the two shorter sides toward each other to the middle
  5. Pinch the bottom where they meet to form a heart
  6. Then begin heating the oil in a medium saucepan over medium low heat, increasing the heat gradually
  7. While the oil is heating, cut the rolls you just made into bite-sized pieces (you’ll have to reshape the heart for most of them)
  8. Once the oil has reached 350 degrees, carefully drop the dough in groups of 6, flipping once golden brown
  9. Remove from the oil and place on a paper towel lined plate
  10. Repeat until you have finished frying each mini heart
  11. Dip all the hearts in the glaze and then transfer to a wire rack to drip off any excess (you could dip half of them in a cinnamon sugar mix if you want another flavor)

Let me know in the comments below if you try out any of these recipes! I’d love to hear how they turn out.

xo.

Leave a Reply

