The Prettiest Pink Patio

  I always love finding out Pantone’s color of the year (& I never knew when it actually was announced until now–December of the year prior in case you didn’t know) Last year’s marsala I couldn’t really get on board.. but this year they’ve picked not one, but two colors. According to the website, “A softer take on color for 2016: For the first time, the blending of two shades – Rose Quartz and Serenity are chosen as the PANTONE Color of the Year”. To tell you the truth, I love these two colors, but not together. Serenity is a little different than my normal taste & I probably won’t be using much of the color except on my nails.. essie’s bikini so teeny.  But the rose quartz really just looks like my all-time favorite shade of pink!

So what’s this have to do with the patio, you ask? Well I’m thinking that the rose quartz color is perfect for outside.  I’ve always loved warm wicker with a pop of pink so this year I’m finally going to make it happen. Here are a few patios I found on Pinterest that I’m using for inspiration…patio inspiration

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

The keys to making the space useful for us are: privacy, comfort, & entertainment.

Privacy: Our house backs up to a road, so there are cars driving by pretty frequently. It’s so much better than looking into someone else’s yard all the time, but our solution is to build a pergola over one side of the patio.  Then we can hang curtains to hide the seating area, while keeping the other side of the patio uncovered for our fire pit & grill. We don’t need shade because our backyard only gets morning sun, so we’re hoping to also add a clear roof on top.. that way we can sit outside during a summer rain without getting wet. I’ve also considered adding slats to one side of the pergola to start a vertical garden, but I may be getting a little ahead of myself.. it would be even more added privacy, though.

Comfort: I’m going to stalk craigslist for a warm wood wicker set that we can hopefully clean up and make use of.. if not, I’ll get the chairs below from ikea. I’d also like to find a couch to go with the chairs & pack it full of comfy pillows & throw blankets, but I’m not sure if that’s quite in the budget this year. A big outdoor pouf would be nice, however not necessary. I also think temperature is a big determinant of comfort so I’ll be hiding a small fan nearby that I can plug in to keep it cool on really hot days, & a galvanized tub full of firewood for the cool nights.

Entertainment: This is a 2-part category because adult entertaining is a little different than our everyday family entertainment, but this space has to combine both. For the adults, I’m going to use these instructions to hack an IKEA cart that I can wheel in & out for drinks.  I’m hoping to find or make a storage ottoman to use as a makeshift coffee table for said drinks & for storing games. Also, a few strands of market lights will enable us to enjoy the space wayy after bedtime, if we so desire :) For the kids, I think a s’mores kit should always be at the ready & I’ll be DIYing a few yard games + pillows/blankets around always allow for warm snuggles.

pink patio

pergola | lights | chairs | table |

pouf | pillow | throw | dice |

tic-tac-toesign |

Now that I have an idea of the direction we’re headed, I’m anxious to get started.  I know that the final product will inevitably be different than this board, but I want to use it as a guide.  Ultimately, we need a pergola & curtains to add the privacy, chairs for lounging, and games at the ready so that’s what I’m hoping to achieve come spring. I’ll be sure to keep you in loop as we get started!

xo.

Leave a Reply

