Adventures in Food

Rhett has been eating food for almost two months now, but we really only started giving him meals as of late.  He hadn’t been sleeping through the night as much and we thought it was because he was starving by the middle of the night, so we decided it was time. I want to continue breastfeeding until he’s at least a year old, so finding a good balance of food to milk is crucial.  I recently got the Real Baby Food book and inside there’s a feeding schedule guide that’s super helpful. (There are also recipes for new eaters all the way up to 1 year olds & beyond)

After exclusively trying baby-led weaning for a few weeks, we found that feeding him with a spoon is easier and a lot less mess to deal with while he’s still young. However, we still give him some things to pick up and eat on his own, so I’d say we are combining spoon feeding & BLW for now. He does eat a lot of the things we eat, though; not only plain purees.  For example, if we have tacos for dinner we’ll give him small bites of the ground beef, avocado, corn, and beans to try. Babies his age need more iron than a grown adult, so getting enough of that is super important.  Iron from animal sources (like meat, fish, poultry) is absorbed better than iron from plant sources, so we try to feed him as much of those as possible..and it doesn’t hurt that he loves them all!  I also have made some of the puree recipes the book suggests & I don’t hesitate to add any spices or seasonings that I’d add if I were eating it myself.  We also use an iron-fortified oatmeal to supplement his meals & he actually loves it.  He sees me getting it ready and starts grunting, groaning & kicking his feet until he gets the first bite haha. All in all, I think this book gives me the advice I need when it comes to the age in which he’d be ready to move on to more advanced foods & flavors and recipes to help round out his diet.  I’m willing to do almost anything to not have a picky eater & they say the more foods you introduce early on, the better!

feeding essentials.jpg

I also wanted to go through a few of the things we consider essentials now that Rhett is eating solids. A high chair is a no-brainer & having baby up at table-level helps them feel included in the meal.  I love ours because it’s quick to wipe down, it can roll around the kitchen (so he can watch & be with me while I cook), and I love the design.  A silicone bib is a must.. again, it’s super easy to wipe clean and it can be rolled up to use on the go.  Right now we put a small portion of whatever he’s eating into a ramekin to feed him so that we’re not contaminating the storage container of the rest of the puree/food. I don’t think he’s quite ready for a plate/bowl of his own yet; I have a strong feeling he’d pick it up and dump the entire thing off the edge. And I love the colors of the spoons & forks we have! Plus, it feels good knowing they are made of recycled milk jugs.   I wasn’t sure when he was supposed to start using a sippy cup, but the book suggests giving a little water during each meal now! So I’m on the hunt for one that is easy for him to hold, won’t leak, & can grow with him.. possibly even one with a straw? If you have any that you & your baby love, please let me know in the comments!

I hope this was helpful if you too are just starting your baby on solids & looking for the things you’ll need.. that book is an awesome resource!

xo.

One thought on “Adventures in Food

  1. Pingback: Just things. |

Leave a Reply

