Gifts that Wow

 Last week I did a gift guide series for $15, $25 & $50 gift ideas, so I thought it would be fun to follow that up with a unique way to wrap a gift.  Yes, some situations call just for a plain ‘ol bag and tissue paper, but with a few dollars and a little effort you can take an otherwise plain gift to the next level.  Let me show you with one of Danny’s favorite things..

Bacardi & Coke.

If you just put these two things into a bag and called it a day, I’m sure the recipient would be grateful,  but it would certainly look like you went out last minute to throw something together.  Now, add Target’s dollar spot to the mix and you’ve got yourself a winner.  I just picked up these things  to our wrap up our favorite things, but I’ll use them today to demonstrate.


  
  I definitely don’t need everything I bought to put this together, but I wasn’t sure exactly how I wanted to package it before I started.  So I played around with everything and found that the Bacardi fit perfectly into the drawstring bag..

Next, I needed to figure out what to do with the Coke. It looked fine without wrapping it at all since it tied in with the colors, but I thought if your bottle didn’t quite match, and for the sake of this demonstration, I’d show you what I came up with haha…


I grabbed the last of a roll of black kraft paper I had downstairs and wrapped the bottle up.  Then I had to choose between sequins and twine.  Ultimately, I went with the red twine because it tied in nicely with the drawstring bag.



Lastly, I threw the bow/bell over the neck of the bottle and called it a day.  I would have written TO:___ FROM:___ on a plain white tag and attached it with one of those mini clips, but I can’t find any of my tags!


So there ya have it!  For an extra $5 (with some leftover for another present) you can make even the most simple gift look festive and fun. Plus the crate, drawstring bag & bell are all reusable! Maybe you’ll get it back in your gift next year?! haha. This could all seem “fussy” to some, but who can honestly say they don’t love opening presents that look pretty too?

xo.

ps: you could easily give this gift as-is, but I’d probably stuff in a few pieces of white tissue paper to save the surprise for when he or she actually opens it!

Leave a Reply

