Blush Tones

“No white after labor day” is totally not something I follow.. I actually looked up where that came from and they say it originated with high society in the 1800’s!! I mean come on, that was so long ago I can’t believe people today even consider that relevant.  I’d say I wear less white after the unofficial end of summer, but I definitely don’t consider it a hard & fast rule. If you’re just dipping your toes into the water, try ivory.  It is softer and actually feels like a more fall/winter color than stark white. I don’t care though, I am so in love with light neutrals.. if I could only choose to wear three colors for the rest of my life, I’d pick blush, gold & white.  So that’s what inspired these two outfit ideas.  I think the outfit on the left is like the “grown up” equivalent of the one on the right.. haha. The tulle skirt has me all heart eyes & of course I’m in dreamland with those Loub’s, but they’re on my 30 before 30 list so I’ve got five years. 

blushing for thanksgiving

sweater | skirt | heel | clutch | necklace | wrap cardi | white jeans | booties

I thought the clutch, necklace, & polish would go well with either outfit; Essie’s Ballet Slippers is the most perfect pale pink for any skin tone.  I’ll be wearing a version of the relaxed outfit for our meal. Helping my mom and sister finish the cooking and chasing Rhett around–who’s learning to crawl and dart toward every.single. electrical cord he sees– is not so conducive to a skirt & heels.  Motherhood comes with all kinds of sacrifices…

IMG_5647

but he’s worth it.

Anyway, do you have your game plans ready for next Friday? Every year Danny and I say we’re gunna go out early and get the best deals and then the sun rises and we’re like, “do you want to go? no. do you? no.” and go back to bed.  With a baby in the house it is definitely not happening, so I’ll be at home in my pajamas looking online for a few things we need for Rhett; a convertible car seat being the big kahuna. Plus, last year we started the tradition of cutting down our own tree at a Christmas tree farm nearby on the day after Thanksgiving, so I’m excited to have Rhett to take with us this year. Then we’ll go home, turn on the Christmas music, & deck all the halls!

Ahhh I can’t wait.

xo.

Leave a Reply

